99 Great Quotes from Authors

A young man who wishes to remain a sound atheist cannot be too careful of his reading. C. S. Lewis
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. Benjamin Franklin
You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you. Ray Bradbury
And the idea of just wandering off to a cafe with a notebook and writing and seeing where that takes me for awhile is just bliss. J. K. Rowling
To me, the greatest pleasure of writing is not what it’s about, but the inner music that words make. Truman Capote
A lot of the time when I write about the person that I love, I feel like I’m writing about New York. Lana Del Rey
There are infinite shades of grey. Writing often appears so black and white. Rebecca Solnit
The only way to learn and hone your craft is by working hard and writing regularly. Darren Shan
The writing career is not a romantic one. The writer’s life may be colorful, but his work itself is rather drab. Mary Roberts Rinehart #kindle
The art of writing is the art of discovering what you believe. Gustave Flaubert
Writing is hard work and bad for the health. E. B. White
Writing sketches, you’re also learning about a journey and characters, and you translate that to bigger things. Jim Rash
I like writing letters and receiving letters. It’s a shame that we’ve lost the art of letter-writing and saving correspondence. I mourn that. Elizabeth McGovern
There’s sketch, improv, writing, acting, music, and badminton. Those are the seven forms of comedy. T. J. Miller
There are three rules for writing a novel. Unfortunately, no one knows what they are. W. Somerset Maugham
Writing is an exploration. You start from nothing and learn as you go. E. L. Doctorow
Writing, to me, is simply thinking through my fingers. Isaac Asimov
I come to writing the same way I come to teaching, which is that my goal is always to create life-long readers. Rick Riordan
Learn as much by writing as by reading. Lord Acton
A reading man and woman is a ready man and woman, but a writing man and woman is exact. Marcus Garvey
Writing is a passion I have never understood, yet a storyteller is all I have ever wanted to be. Ruth Park
Sometimes I wish the writing and drawing were more integrated. Alison Bechdel
Well, writing was what I wanted to do, it was always what I wanted to do. I had novels to write so I wrote them. Octavia Butler
The first writing of the human being was drawing, not writing. Marjane Satrapi
I remember very little about writing the first series of ‘Hitchhiker’s.’ It’s almost as if someone else wrote it. Douglas Adams
Writing is like prostitution. First you do it for love, and then for a few close friends, and then for money. Moliere
I think people become consumed with selling a book when they need to be consumed with writing it. Ann Patchett
Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body. Joseph Addison
Education begins the gentleman, but reading, good company and reflection must finish him. John Locke
A man only learns in two ways, one by reading, and the other by association with smarter people. Will Rogers
When I read about the evils of drinking, I gave up reading. Henny Youngman
My personal hobbies are reading, listening to music, and silence. Edith Sitwell
Seek the lofty by reading, hearing and seeing great work at some moment every day. Thornton Wilder
There are worse crimes than burning books. One of them is not reading them. Ray Bradbury
A reading man and woman is a ready man and woman, but a writing man and woman is exact. Marcus Garvey
A wild and crazy weekend involves sitting on the front porch, smoking a cigar, reading a book. Robert M. Gates
Reading is a basic tool in the living of a good life. Joseph Addison
Learn as much by writing as by reading. Lord Acton
I’ve given up reading books. I find it takes my mind off myself. Oscar Levant
Learning music by reading about it is like making love by mail. Luciano Pavarotti
The Sun Also Rises’ by Ernest Hemingway is my favorite book. You feel manly reading it. Elizabeth Olsen
I prefer listening to talking, reading to socializing, and cozy chats to group settings. Susan Cain
I’ve loved reading all my life. John Wayne
I’m not big on reading directions. I can’t do that. I’m just not from that world. Richard Dean Anderson
Be careful about reading health books. You may die of a misprint. Mark Twain
People say that life is the thing, but I prefer reading. Logan Pearsall Smith
The flood of print has turned reading into a process of gulping rather than savoring. Raymond Chandler
If one cannot enjoy reading a book over and over again, there is no use in reading it at all. Oscar Wilde
Reading is a conversation. All books talk. But a good book listens as well. Mark Haddon
Reading – the best state yet to keep absolute loneliness at bay. William Styron
How well he’s read, to reason against reading! William Shakespeare
Reading allows me to recharge my batteries. Rahul Dravid
You don’t have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them. Ray Bradbury
When you’re reading Thoreau you look at Hollywood differently, let me tell ya! Emile Hirsch
A book worth reading is worth buying. John Ruskin
All ballet, all reading, all music. That was my world, my inner world. Natalia Makarova
Easy reading is damn hard writing. Nathaniel Hawthorne
The worst thing about new books is that they keep us from reading the old ones. John Wooden
Reading is to the mind what exercising is to the body. Richard Steele
We must form our minds by reading deep rather than wide. Quintilian
Hard work makes easy reading or, at least, easier reading. M. H. Abrams
I certainly gained a lot by reading about Shanghai. Ralph Fiennes
I was an omnivore at reading, so that everything I ever read contributed. Jack Vance
I believe that writing is derivative. I think good writing comes from good reading. Charles Kuralt
Oh, that sound? I’m in the hot tub, reading a novel. Jane Smiley
I just enjoy lying on the couch and reading a magazine. David Sedaris
I love reading; it’s a great way to avoid writing. Tony Kushner
I have spent many, many hours reading J.K. Rowling’s work. I am a known ‘Harry Potter’ fan. Lev Grossman
Storytelling is my passion, and it rises from a love of reading. Kelley Armstrong
I have a sweet tooth for reading, so books migrate to my zip code en mass. Dawn Olivieri
Reading taught me how to write. Ruth Rendell
When I see great boxers, it’s like reading a wonderful poem. Liam Neeson
When I was growing up, the place I felt least alone was when I was reading. Julianne Moore
We shouldn’t teach great books; we should teach a love of reading. B. F. Skinner
I was reading a book… ‘the history of glue’ – I couldn’t put it down. Tim Vine
Sometimes poetry is inspired by the conversation entered into by reading other poems. John Barton
There is a crisis involving reading in certain communities. Walter Dean Myers
Reading is a discount ticket to everywhere. Mary Schmich
There is an art of reading, as well as an art of thinking, and an art of writing. Clarence Day
I grew up reading Shakespeare and Mark Twain. Jackson Browne
My idea of a good time is creating something and reading a good book. Robin Gibb
Reading is the last act of secular prayer. Richard Powers
Reading is something I’ve really missed, not being able to enter people’s worlds. Robert Smith
For me, reading was always the great escape without getting your fingers burnt. Geri Halliwell
I, personally, have found reading a continual support to writing. Margaret Mahy
Reading should be a repeat performance. John Barton
I recommend the art of slow reading. Amos Oz
Reading takes solitude and it takes focus. Augusten Burroughs
Reading is my greatest luxury. Louise Brown
Reading your own material aloud forces you to listen. Stephen Ambrose
I didn’t go to school much, so I taught myself what I knew from reading. Doris Lessing
I agree that a love of reading is a great gift for a parent to pass on to his or her child. Ann Brashares
Nothing worse than reading a love scene written by your father. Alafair Burke
You can’t be a change-maker by reading a book. Bill Drayton
My favorite is always the book that I’m currently reading. Joe Lhota
I absolutely love reading; it is a fantastic way of unwinding. Louise Nurding
If you enjoy reading something, read it. S. E. Hinton
A writer is a palmist, reading the lines of the planet. Pico Iyer
If I like a thing, it just sticks after once reading it or hearing it. Abraham Lincoln
1 Comment

Leave a Reply

