A Nightbreed Action Game?

Nightbreed is a movie that holds a special place in my heart. I watched it as a kid and didn’t know what it was called, only that every time we flipped through the channels and it was on we were watching it. Usually, my father turned it on. It was a movie that always made me curious and fascinated me. I when I got older and found out what it was, read the book (Cabal), and did some research about the movie to find the Cabal Cut and then watched it repeatedly.

The game is basically just the last bit of the movie where the cops and downs folk attack Midian.

Published by Ocean Software in 1990 adapted from the film Nightbreed which was based on the book Cabal by Clive Barker. Available on the Commodore 64, AmigaOS, Atari ST, ZX Spectrum, Amstrad CPC, and in DOS. Chris Kerry and Steve Kerry designed and developed this game.

It’s an interesting little gem that I never knew existed. Then again I didn’t know Nightbreed was called Nightbreed until I rediscovered it in my 20’s.

The game included this pig monster, police, bombs, mines, and various monsters.

Screenshot (94)

You can watch a gameplay video with the link below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H_er_scc9hA

Also, FLIPS! This game is full of flips. Front flips whenever you jump. This never happened in the book or movie but it adds a pizzaz to the game.

I couldn’t find this game for sale online but if you are into Nightbreed there was a director’s cut of the movie that came out in 2014 that’s worth a watch.

 

 

 

I write horror myself. Read my work for free on Kindle Unlimited or Join my mailing list for a free ebook that’s not on Amazon. I will only email you when I have other free offers on my eBooks.

2 Comments

  1. It’s old enough to be considered Abandonwarez, and is available on many abandonwarez sites for download, or even to play in your browser.

    Like

Leave a Reply

